China
China Travel Guide > Guiyang City Guide back
Useful Information | Hongfu Temple | Qianling Park | Jiaxiu Tower | Huaxi Park | Tianhe Pool | Hongfeng Lake | Baihua Lake | Qingyan Ancient Town | Nanjiang Canyon | Nanjiao Park | Zhenshan Ethnic Village | Hebin Park |

Useful Information

CurrencyRenminbi (RMB)
Electric Plug Details
Two parallel flat blades
Electricity
220Volt, 50Hz
IDD City Code
10
IDD Country Code
851
Language
Putonghau (Mandarin)
Mobile System
GSM
Time Zone
GMT/UTC +8()
Useful Telephone
Emergencies 120
Police Dial 110
Fire & Ambulance 119


Hongfu Temple

Originally built in 1667, it is the largest temple of Zen Buddhism in Guizhou Province. It features majesty and sobriety. Hongfu means to develop Buddha's spirits and to benefit mankind. Today it is rated as one of the 142 national key temple scenic areas as well as the key cultural relic preservation in Guizhou Province.

On entering the gate of the temple, you will see the Bell Tower and the Drum Tower on both sides. The bronze bell weighs more than 3,000 Jin in Chinese measurement (equal to about 3,300 pounds), and was cast in 1469 during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644).

In the first hall named Heavenly King Hall, you can see the statues of Maitreya Buddha and the four Heavenly Kings. On the walls there are also steles of sutra and colorful paintings. The second main hall is the Bodhisattva Hall dedicated to Bodhisattva Avalokiteshvara with 32 arms. In the third hall named Mahavira Hall there are gilded statues of Sakyamuni and the 18 Arhats. There's also a jade Buddha statue from Rangoon, the capital of Burma. It is 1.5 meters high and weighs 900 kilograms. The statue looks beneficent but solemn, and it stands among more than 10   other jade statues of Bodhisattva and Maitreya.

Besides these superb halls, the temple is also adorned with galleries, pools, and springs, which are of high artistic value.


Qianling Park

The park was named for the Qianling Mountain, which is the most famous mountain in southern Guizhou. As one of the noted attractions on the Guizhou plateau, it boasts clear water, green mountains, tranquil forests and old temples. Inside the park, trees verdantly grow and streams gurgle down into the valley. There is a "holy fountain" up the mountain whose water is so clean that local people consider it coming from the heaven. The flowing steams from the fountain and the mist surrounding the forest make it one of the greatest eight scenic spots in Guiyang. The lake of Qiangling lies at the foot of the mountain like a green pearl. Trees and pavilions are seen around the lake, which constitutes a peaceful and elegant atmosphere for the visitors. More than 500 energetic and enchanting macaques live in the mountain in the park and this add to the features of the park.

About 1500 kinds of trees and flowers as well as 1000 kinds of herbs have been found there in the Qianling Mountain. And there are gregarious macaques and flocks of birds too. Visitors may go up the winding path to the Hongfu Temple up the hill. This temple is one of the most famous Buddhism temples in Guizhou province, which is first built in the year 1672. On the way to the temple, up in the sharp cliffs, stone inscriptions can be seen here and there. Among them, the most notable one is the 6.2-meter-high and 3.7-meter-wide Chinese character of "Tiger", which was written by a man called Zhao Dechang in the year 1860. Its calligraphy is skillful and unique and is of high history value. Up on the top of the mountain, there is a pavilion, which overlooks the whole city. Down at the foot of the mountain, lies the mirror-like lake of Qianling. On its bank, among the trees, stands a memorial for the martyrs who died during the war of liberation of Guizhou Province.

There is a Kylin Cave up the mountain, which is also one of the key cultural relic preservations in Guizhou Province. During the the War of Resistance against Japan, the patriotic generals Zhang Xueliang and Yang Hucheng were capured and imprisoned here at the cave.

The "holy fountain" is also reffered to as the "increscence fountain" or the "strainer fountain". It is in a village called Shanqiao, which is about 600 meters to the southwest of Qianling Lake. The altitude there is 1180 meters, 90 meters higher than that of the lake. The waters originate from among the rocks half way up the mountain and its volumn may vary hundreds of times during a day, which gives it the name of "increscence fountain"


Jiaxiu Tower

Jiaxiu Tower is a magnificent 3-level pavilion about 20 meters high. Its turnup eaves and white stone pillars are well carved and preserved. Located in water, connected by the Fuyu Bridge (Floating Bridge) at two banks, the tower has green tiles, red pillars, engraved windows and white stone parapets, which makes it superb and striking. Ascending the tower, visitors can get a good view of the surrounding scenery.

The tower has a long history. During the Ming dynasty (1573-1620), the local majesty, Jiang Dongzhi, ordered to build a causeway at where the tower locates today, linking to the southern bank of the Nanming River. Later a pavilion was built to honor the first scholar of the time and hoped that would encourage more scholars to follow the example. Thusthe tower was named Jiaxiu tower, which means First Sholars Tower. In 1621, the original pavilion was burnt in a fire and the stadholder of the time made it rebuilt. In 1689, it was destroyed again, and then, Majesty Tianwen rebuilt it again. So far, the tower has been reconstructed 6 times. For 400 years, it has become the symbol of the city, witnessing the history as well as the future of the development of the Guiyang city.

Inside Jiaxiu Tower, there is a good collection of authentic works and paintings from ancient calligraphers. Of them, the most famous one is the couplet written by Liu Yushang in the Qing Dynasty. This couplet consists of 206 words as a whole, with 87 words in the first and the second line respectively, which is 26 words more than the Longest couplet preserved in the Big Guan Tower in Kunming. This couplet is notable not only for its length, but also for its literatural value. Its choice of words is so delicate and magnificent that it looks into not only the history of the tower but also the universal life of human being.

Under the Jiaxiu Tower, is the Fuyu Bridge (Jade Floating Bridge). It is made of white stone and the parapets are well engraved. From distance, the bridge looks like a dragon floating in the river.

The night scene of the tower is the most impressive. Colorfully decorated with lanterns, reflected in water, the tower looks so beautiful that people may feel as if they had been back to the ancient times.

Huaxi Park

Huaxi Park belongs to the Huaxi scenic spot area, which is 350.5 square kilometers in total. The most beautiful feature is the clear streams winding through hills and the flowers providing beautiful displays throughout the four seasons of the year.

Scenic attractions of the park are centred on the four small and exquisite hills: Unicorn, Phoenix, Turtle and Snake. The Unicorn Hill is the major one of the four. It resembles the shape of a prancing unicorn. On the top of the hill, stones of various shapes stand upright like the horn of the unicorn. Yitianting pavilion is built up there, pointing up to the sky and provides a panoramic view of the park.

The water of Huaxi River is clear and clean. Flowers bloom all year round in the park. Boats are available in the park for visitors to rent. A boat tour offers views of beautiful landscapes along the entire river. Visitors also can take a rest at pavilions or terraces under the shade of trees and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of rurality.

The park is really an ideal tourist destination all year round. Crystal-clear streams run like a mirror, bouquets of flowers and peaceful rurality will feast the visitors eyes. Therefore, it is considered as a pearl of the Central Guizhou.


Tianhe Pool

The scenic resort area covers 15 square kilometers. It centers on a clear pool surrounded on all sides by steep cliffs covered with green trees. Tianhe Pool is a typical naturally sunken pit of calcified rocks. The scenic area has four major sections, including a clacified stalactite waterfall, the Xiangba Trench, a water cavern and a dry one, each with its own characteristic features.

There are two natural limestone caves in the cliffs. One of them is a treasure house of stalactites of different images. The 210-meter wide stalactite waterfall is the widest of the kind in China. Roaring waters from the hill create caves of different sizes and shapes. When the waters are abundant, they are like jumping tigers and running horses; when the waters are not so powerful, mists from the river fly at the gust of wind. The 100-step stone bridge over the Wolong Lake cast its reflections in the mirror-like water. All constitutes beautiful scenery in the Chinese painting.

The other cave can be toured by boat, which carries visitors down the Tongtian River for a look at the Canch Palace, Tidal Pool, the underground Heavenly Pavilion and several other attractions. The Longtan Cave is about 1000 meters long, with the widest opening of 80 meters, and the narrowest 20 meters. The water is about 21 meters deep. Nature has created different shapes of stalactites beyond your imagination. Karst landforms like fissures, sinkholes, underground streams, and caverns can be found there. On the ground, the remaining parts of a limestone cave form a natural bridge, like the spine of the dragon. All this offers a unique view.

The resort is close to Miao settlements. Walking along the Xingba Trench, tourists can see waterwheel, water grind and enjoy the Miao village flavors.

There is a cableway between two of the mountains. Visitors can slide down the wire, overlooking the city and experience the feeling of flying in the sky.


Hongfeng Lake

Hongfeng Lake is an artificial lake on the Guizhou Plateau, built in 1958 when the reservoir was under constrution. A lot of maple trees grow around the lake on the mountain, and the lake takes its name since these maple trees' leaves turn red every fall.

The scenic area is made up of four parts: the North Lake, the South Lake, the Rear Lake and the minority ethnic villages, each radiating its unique charm.

Hongfeng Lake can be appreciated at four different seasons. In spring, visitors may enjoy the blooming of the flowers; in summer, visitors may play with the clear and clean water; in autumn, the trees will display various colors; and in winter, flocks of birds will make it a good place to visit.

There are some ethnic villages with interesting examples of village architecture in the scenic area, including a DiaoJiaolou (Miao traditional house), a Buyi flagstone house and a Dong drum tower that has a roofed bridge. The drum tower can be reached by boat. In accordance with village custom, visitors will get a warm welcome; they may taste many special ethnic foods and snacks there too. It will be such an interesting experience that they may be reluctant to leave.


Baihua Lake

It is located in the northwest suburbs, about 22 kilometers from the downtown area. This is a man-made lake with more than 100 charming islands, covering an area of 83 square kilometers. The scenic area features Karst landscapes and crystal-clear waters. And it has the nickname of Mini Guilin(a famous toristm city in China).

There are more than 50 scenic spots here and 23 of them are open to visitors. The best-known ones are Yanbei Gorge, Yanbei Peak, Jinyin Gorge, Mogu Peak, Hongwu Gorge and Hongwu Temple. There are also limestone caves on some of the islands.
Bird lsland is one of the most famous one, a natural habitat of different kinds of birds. When spring comes, hundreds of birds float over the island, which makes it a fantastic view for the visitors.

Another feature of the lake is the village sites, situated along the lake. In the evenings, when fishermen finish their job and park their boat at the bank, cooking mist rising from the house, it looks like a fine Chinese traditional wash painting.


Qingyan Ancient Town

Qingyan Ancient Town covers an area of 3 square kilometers. The town retains a lot of historic layout and ancient buildings, from the Ming Dynasty or even Qing Dynasty. In the town, visitors may have the chance to see well-preserved stone-slab lanes, archways, watchtowers and battlements. Now, the ancient town is famous for its "9 temples, 8 shrines, 5 pavilions, 3 caves, 2 ancestral halls, 1 palace and 1 academy". Most of them are well preserved and are worth visiting.

The town is indeed a place made up of stone. Historic relics can be seen almost everywhere. Among its 37 tourist attractions are 9 temples, 8 shrines, 5 pavilions, 3 caves, 2 ancestral halls, 1 palace and 1 academy. There are three ancient archways too. Most of these ancient buildings are exquisitely carved with terrapins, dragons and other traditional Chinese patterns.

The ancient town has a history of more than 600 years. It was originally established as a post station in 1378. Because of its important situation, it played an important role along the ancient post route from Guangxi to Guizhou, from which government documents and military intelligence were sent to and from the post. Later, an army of solders were sent to the station and built it as their fortress. After years of changing, it became today's Qingyan town.

Qing Yan owns some famous local specialties as well. One of them is Rose Candy (also known as Mia Pian Candy in Chinese) made by the Ping family in Qing Yan town. History of the Candy can be traced back as early as 1874 and it is passed down through generations in the old town. Today the fragrant and sweet candy becomes a famous brand and is still liked by young and old.

Another local product is Qing Yan Shuanghua Vinegar. The liquid of the vinegar is quite thick and is of the color of dark red. The vinegar tastes of slight sweetness in the mouth and the fragrance lasts long. Local Guiyang people like it very much.


Nanjiang Canyon

This canyon is a newly developed scenic spot. It is 40 km long,with a maximum depth of 250 meters. Inside the canyon, there are more than 80 natural attractions including more than 40 waterfalls.

White-water rafting is the most thrilling attraction for energetic travelers to the canyon. There are numerous fascinating peaks, caves and breathtaking shoals along the river. In the scenic area of Ladder Cliff, the steep banks sandwiching the narrow river appear to have been chopped by a giant axe. At the end of an 800-merte-long funnel-shaped section, the river becomes so narrow that the branches of the trees growing on opposite banks overlap.

Waterfalls of big and small, 48 in total, cascade into the canyon. One of these, Bell Waterfall, is a typical travertine fall. The 30-metre-high rock from where the water gushes down conceals a limestone cave, which allows visitors to "enter the rock" and watch the falling water from within.

Flocks of white egrets fly down the river by day, returning to their nests upstream when dusk falls. At night, the fireflies light up the valley, presenting a wondrous display. At the Holiday Resort in the middle of the canyon, a bonfire party is organized, where Yi dances and songs are performed and feasts of local food such as roasted whole lamb are offered.


Nanjiao Park

Also known as Underground Park, Nanjiao (South Suburb) Park is seven kilometers south of Guiyang. It is one of the developed toristm areas in Guizhou, featuring hills, waters, caverns, and forests. Its 587-metre-long White Dragon Cave displays a wonder world of stunning stalactites.

The White Dragon Cave is the central focus of the park. The cave, a 587-metre-long tunnel, is divided into two sections. A myriad of stone curtains, stone flowers, stone pillars and stalagmites fill the cave, turningh it into an exotic fairytale world. The scenery above the cave is also charming. Hills reflect in the water; water runs around the hill. The beautiful landscape makes the tourists reluctant to leave.


Zhenshan Ethnic Village

The village was first built during the Ming Dynasty, with a history of more than 400 years. Three sides of the village are surrounded by water. It is built against the mountains according to the local geological conditions. An ancient castle and barracks have remained largely intact in the village. Three fourths of the residents there are of Buyi nationality and the remaining are mostly of Miao nationality. There are about 120 households and three fouths of them are of Buyi nationality and one fourth of them are Miao people.

Zhen Shan Village is a village of stone, where door frames, paths, roads and even quite a few utensils are all made of stone, and roofs are covered with slate.

On Juanuary the 10th every lunar year, the villagers hold the traditional dancing activities to celebrate the New Year. Buyi and Miao villagers in their best costumes sing and dance to the melodies from the Lusheng and the bamboo flutes to celebrate their own traditional festival. Legends said that long long ago, once some bandits captured the Buyi forefather in the village.  The villagers failed to rescue him by themselves and they asked the local Miao people for help. The Miaos played the Lusheng and sang Miao songs to communicate with him and the bandits could not understand. With the help of the Miaos, the forefather was rescued. From then on, the local Buyi have formed the custom of singing and dancing to appreciate the help from the Miao. Local people sing and dance on for 3 days for the festival each year. Besides this, Zhenshan Villagers also celebrate the traditional "Siyueba (April 8)" Festival and the "Qiyueban (July15)" Festival. Now, these festivals have become joyous days celebrated by Miao, Buyi, Dong, Zhuang, Shui, Gelao, or even the Han people.

In Zhenshan, young people take advantage of the chance to make friends and choose their loved future spouses through dancing and singing. Embroider is another important part of the folk custom, with rich contents of flowers, birds, insects and fish. Girls usually make embroiders of special styles and present it as a gift to their lovers.


Hebin Park

Hebin Park covers a total area of 17.1 hectares (or 42.25 acres), with water area of 2.62 hectares (or 6.47 acres) and land area of 14.48 hectares (or 35.78 acres). At the foot of the hill in the south, the limpid river, with old willows stretching far and low along its banks, is good for swimming in summer. In the park, greeted by the green hills and clear waters, the extraordinary towers and pavilions, the beautiful parterre, the serene rearing pond and even the gallery ballroom, you will surely feel relaxed and happy. There are also bamboo buildings in the park such as bamboo garden, bamboo room, bamboo corridor, bamboo pavilion and bamboo fence, giving you a strong rural flavor and making you forget all the worries of the world.

 



Reservation: reservation.ta@jebsenholidays.com
Telephone: (852) 3180 6770    Fax: (852) 2366 2690
Copyright © 2014 Tourasia Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.
29th Floor, Island Place Tower, 510 King's Road, North Point, Hong Kong
Travel Licence No. 353984